Fri. Jun 9th, 2023

Paul Simon has announced his first new album since 2018’s In the Blue Light. Seven Psalms is out May 19 (via Owl Records/Legacy Recordings). The album is a 33-minute, seven-movement collection intended to be heard—according to the announcement—as one continuous piece.

The below video offers a brief behind-the-scenes look at the album’s creation. Simon reveals that the album’s concept came to him in a dream. The album features a guest appearance from Edie Brickell and the British vocal ensemble Voces8. Simon produced the album with Kyle Crusham. The video ends by noting that it was a trailer of sorts for an upcoming documentary about the album’s creation called In Restless Dreamsdirected by documentary Alex Gibney.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Paul Simon: Seven Psalms

Seven Psalms:

0​1 The Lord
02 Love Is Like a Braid
03 My Professional Opinion
04 Your Forgiveness
05 Trail of Volcanoes
06 The Sacred Harp
07 Wait

By cb2gp